Sunday, November 22, 2009

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Complete Organ Works Vol. 1 - Jennifer Bate

    Artist: Jennifer Bate
    Album: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Complete Organ Works Vol. 1
    Released: 2005
    Label: Somm
    Catalog N°: SOMMCD050
    Genre: Classical, Organ
    File Format: eac_wv_cue_log scans complete 304MB


    Jennifer Bate has recorded for the SOMM label the complete organ works of Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847). The five CDs comprise an incredible number of 68 pieces, from his first composition (aged 11) to his last thoughts. Among these are four fragments, which Jennifer completed in the composer's style. Many pieces are now recorded, published and performed for the first time, thanks to the research of Professor Christian Martin Schmidt, the acknowledged leading authority on Mendelssohn. The CDs are being released 2005/6 on SOMM 050-054 (mid price).
    Jennifer Bate recorded on six important romantic organs: the early works on the classically-voiced (Walker) organ at Wimborne Minster and the remainder, which progress to more romantic voicing on the organs of The Temple Church (Harrison & Harrison), St Matthew's Bayswater (Walker) All Saints Margaret Street (Harrison & Harrison), St Stephen's Bournemouth (Hill) and St John's Upper Norwood (Lewis).
    Jennifer's extensive research into the life and works of Mendelssohn was recently greatly assisted by Professor Schmidt, whose comprehensive study revealed many textural errors in previously-published scores. His new edition of Mendelssohn's organ works form three volumes of the nine new Breitkopf and Härtel Complete Mendelssohn edition.
    Jennifer said about this colossal project "It was a life's ambition to record Mendelssohn's organ works and so exciting that the project coincided with new research and the discoveries now published in the new edition".
    Volume I:
    "...Bate's scholarly approach and fastidious playing are reason enough ... to collect the complete set."
    BBC Music Magazine, June 2005

    "It goes without saying that her playing is hugely impressive and impeccably stylish ... "
    Gramophone, July 2005
    "Jennifer Bate has gained a justified reputation as one of the most important organists of our time ... consummate artistry ... sensitively played."
    MusicWeb International, September 2005
    01.    Prelude and Fugue in C Minor - Op.37 No.1: Prelude        04:13
    02.    Prelude and Fugue in C Minor - Op.37 No.1: Fugue        03:31
    03.    Organ Sonata No.1 in F Minor - Op.65: Allegro moderato        06:09
    04.    Organ Sonata No.1 in F Minor - Op.65: Adagio        03:26
    05.    Organ Sonata No.1 in F Minor - Op.65: Andante. Recitativo        04:01
    06.    Organ Sonata No.1 in F Minor - Op.65: Allegro assai vivace        04:03
    07.    Praeludium in D minor (28.11.1820)        05:29
    08.    Chorale Prelude in E minor (c. 1830)        03:33
    09.    Fugue in E minor (13.7.1839)        04:27
    10.    Fugue in D (11.1.1835) (Duet with Martin Stacey)        04:00
    11.    Fughetta in A        02:18
    12.    Andante and Variations in D (23.7.1944)        05:40
    13.    Studies for the Organ (written before 14.11.1844): No. 1 Con moto maestoso in A        08:19
    14.    Studies for the Organ (written before 14.11.1844): No. 2 Andante tranquillo non lento in A        02:50
    15.    Studies for the Organ (written before 14.11.1844): No. 3 Chorale in A        01:20
    16.    Studies for the Organ (written befoere 14.11.1844): No. 4 Allegro maestoso in D        05:21
    17.    Allegro assai in C (Fragment)        00:59
    18.    Allegro assai in C (Completed by Jennifer Bate)        02:35

    download links
    pw: jenia

     eac-logSource URL:
    Visit moremusicisthekey for Daily Updated Hairstyles Collection

Blog Archive