Thursday, March 18, 2010

TACTUS ORGAN MUSIC: Giuseppe Verdi - Organ Transcriptions - Stefano Molardi

    Artist: Stefano Molardi. Organ Serassi (1825) St. Maria, Campagna, Piacenza. Organ Bossi (1797), Roncole Verdi, Busseto, Parma
    Released: 2003
    Label: Tactus
    Catalog N°: TC 812201
    Genre: Classical
    File Format: eac_wv_cue_log scans complete, 3014mb. mp3 (lame) VBR-250 V0, 108mb

    During the nineteenth century, bands and organs were the tireless spokesmen for operatic music composed for the theater. The phenomenon was both cultural and social since the need for opera, which was felt at every level of Italian society in the1800s, was nourished and sustained by various factors. First and foremost, obviously, came the artistic and musical aspects, but these were closely followed by the star system of singers and actors, and, finally, by a healthy dose of political propaganda which coincided with the establishment and consolidation of national unity (consider the roles played by Nabucco, in full Risorgimento, and thirty years later by Aida, as typical examples of “national opera”). In light of the influence that opera had on organ practice, it is worthwhile to observe the phenomenon from two different–albeit complementary–points of view: those of organology and organ performance. In the minds of organ builders, the capability of playing arias, cabalettas or overtures on the organ signified building instruments which could faithfully realize the various unique characteristics of operatic language: the greatest possible contrast and diversification between melody and accompaniment, faithful imitation of timbres, gradual dynamic crescendos, percussive effects.

    On this CD:

    01. Dies Irae da 'Messa da Requiem' 06:00
    02. Lacrimosa da 'Messa da Requiem' 04:39
    03. Sinfonia da 'La Forza del Destino' 08:20
    04. Sinfonia da 'Traviata' 03:40
    05. Offertorio da 'Stiffelio' 03:05
    06. 'Di tale amor che dirsi' da 'Il Trovatore' 01:13
    07. Requiem da 'Messa da Requiem' 04:38
    08. Rex tremendae e Recordare da 'Messa da Requiem' 06:30
    09. Offertorio da 'Giovanna di Guzman' 04:30
    10. Agnus Dei da'Messa da Requiem' 05:52
    11. Sinfonia da 'Aida' 03:58
    12. Finale Atto Secondo da 'Aida' 12:50

    pw: tactus
    Source URL:
    Visit moremusicisthekey for Daily Updated Hairstyles Collection

Blog Archive